Menus, listings and special offers for all Aberdeen restaurants, cafés, takeaways and pubs

Logo

4.5 Star Restaurant and Takeaway Reviews

Browsing the newest of 1 4.5 star reviews on AberdeenMenus.com.

, , Edinburgh

4.5 from George (50%) on May 25th, 2015 (2 years ago)

I have eaten in many Chinese food restaurants around the world during my work, especially in ChinaTown in Vancouver, B.C. and in California, Montreal, Riyadh, Malaysia, Singapore, and in the UK. Not one of the restaurants that I have visited in my travels comes close to the food I got today from the Mayflower in Edinburgh. I called their number, and was answered by a very polite woman, who took my order and details. The food was delivered 20 minutes later, hot and delicious. All the dishes I ordered were made with fresh ingredients and were truly tasty and amazing. I would strongly recommend this restaurant without reservation. Great food.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

, , Edinburgh

4.5 from boatman (100%) on January 29th, 2015 (2 years ago)

Have taken friends here on several occasions and have never been disappointed. It's a bit like a Tardis small and inviting at the entrance and opens up to warm and comfortable dining room. The staff are friendly and welcoming and as Jamesleon says Bread, butter and iced tap water are offered before you ever order. If you enjoy your food with a French connection you will enjoy eating at Café Marlene. Bon appetit.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

, , Edinburgh

4.5 from wgmcmillan (100%) on November 1st, 2014 (3 years ago)

Great traditional Scottish gastro pub. Music thrown in downstairs. Busy and buzzy. Very satisfied and probably stayed longer than planned.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

, , Edinburgh

4.5 from Gill Fraser (100%) on January 5th, 2014 (3 years ago)

Lovely all round Chinese takeaway, the best salted spicy chicken in Edinburgh. Good value for money, tasty and superb service. Don't go too near opening time though as I suspect that you may get a reheat from previous day.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

, , Edinburgh

4.5 from Flynn (100%) on October 23rd, 2013 (4 years ago)

Enjoyed family birthday - service and food was great.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

, , Edinburgh

4.5 from caroline (100%) on October 18th, 2013 (4 years ago)

My family have been going to The Cockatoo for many years, the food is always excellent, the staff are friendly and cheerful and always make a fuss of our daughter who they have known from a baby (she is now almost 6). If you are looking for a welcoming family resturaunt with good food you need look no further. The dessert menu is the only thing that stops me from giving it 5 stars as only one or 2 things are homemade.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

, , Edinburgh

4.5 from edidiner (107%) on May 23rd, 2013 (4 years ago)

it is now the place to be seen after work since stac polly added their new gin bar!!!

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

, , Edinburgh

4.5 from ciamara (352%) on April 24th, 2013 (4 years ago)

We visited Umair on a Saturday night. The lady who greeted us on arrival gave us an extremely friendly welcome. We were shown to a window seat, myself nearest the door and my wife beside the radiator. Very thoughtful.

Our voucher was for two starters, two mains, and rice, along with a decent sized glass of wine each. We settled for vegetable pakora and the mixed kebab starter. Both were tasty, but not large quantities.

We both had Baltis as a main course. The chicken Balti was requested extra spicy, and, most unusually, was spiced up. Could still have been a wee bit more spicy. The lamb was requested spicy and was just about perfect for me. The garlic nan we ordered was also really good, and full of flavour.

The Balti dishes come in a heavy Balti bowl on a wooden stand. Excellent patter,and extremely tasty.

The service was excellent,friendly, not too intrusive. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

, , Edinburgh

4.5 from MagsD (50%) on January 29th, 2013 (4 years ago)

Can hardly believe 4th January review. 3 of us there this evening, food as tasty as usual and lovely, reasonably priced wine. We shared nachos then the other 2 had big burgers for main and I had chicken in a blanket with salad (I hate green beans and this requested change to what was on the menu was absolutely no problem). There was fresh, iced water brought to our table without having to ask and the mains were priced at around £9 each - what you would expect in a bar/restaurant type of place.

The staff were attentive without being over-bearing and we had chats about The Espy's film nights and dog-friendly policy. They rang for a taxi for us and it arrived quickly. This taxi driver and the one we had got earlier both happened to have visited The Espy and had nothing but praise for it.

In closing, my one complaint would be the less than luxurious toilets but I understand that the whole place is closing for 3 days for a general freshen-up and upgrading of "the facilities".

Please go to The Espy - it's excellent. If you don't like it, blame me!

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

, , Edinburgh

4.5 from A Bogle (100%) on January 16th, 2013 (4 years ago)

I never ever write reviews but thought I should for Food For u as I have ordered a few times now, inbetween ordering from other places in Edinburgh and the food is always so tasty and good. I usually ordered shredded chilli chicken and it is the only place I have tried that the chicken actually looks,tastes and feels like chicken. Really good service and very polite. Going to stick to this one now, some people rave about Taste of China but the food there is not as good.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review